You are here

Two of the College’s Own Recognized as ‘Distinguished UI Alumni’

The University of Iowa Alumni Association (UIAA) recently announced the 2015 recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Awards (DAA)—the Association’s highest honor. Two graduates from the College of Nursing were among this select few.

Leslie Jansa Williams (BSN ’82) was one of only three people to receive UIAA’s Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award, which recognizes significant accomplishments in business or professional life or a distinguished human service to the community, state, or nation.

Williams, who was born in Fort Dodge, Iowa, and grew up in Gowrie, Iowa, is currently president and CEO of the ImmusanT, a biotech company based in Cambridge, Mass. She has earned international acclaim in a career where she oversees the development of technological breakthroughs capable of radically improving human lives.

Only one member of the UI alumni community received a Distinguished Faculty/Staff Award for significant achievement or specific meritorious service on behalf of the quality and advancement of the university, and that individual was Sally Mathis Hartwig.

This native Iowan from Dayton earned her bachelor degree in nursing from the College of Nursing in 1975 after graduating from Iowa Methodist School of Nursing. She continued her education and earned a Masters in Nursing Service Administration from the college in 1977. 

Mathis Hartwig has developed an impressive record of nursing leadership and service to the profession. As her support letters conveyed, she has demonstrated “…exemplary qualities of leadership, professional achievements and impeccable character [that] align perfectly with the established eligibility criteria for the award.” 

Since 1963, the UIAA has presented Distinguished Alumni Awards every year to accomplished alumni and friends. This year, 14 awardees were honored in five categories: service, achievement, young alumni, faculty/staff, and friend of the university. More information about this award program, including a list of all the 2015 honorees can be found here

# # #

Posted On: 
Nov 10th, 2014