You are here

CON Alumni Recognized during 2015 Nurses Week Awards Ceremony at UIHC

The following alumni of UI’s College of Nursing were recognized during the 2015 Nurses Week Awards Ceremony at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

Sally Mathis Hartwig Scholarship
A native of Dayton, Iowa, Sally earned a BSN degree from the University of Iowa in 1975 and a master’s degree in nursing administration in 1977. She served as director of nursing at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC) from 1979 to 1993 and again, on an interim basis in 1998. For years, Sally has tirelessly served the nursing profession with the same compassion and care she provided her patients. Generations of students and faculty in the college of Nursing—and nurses at UIHC—will benefit from her generosity and commitment.

2015 Sally Mathis Hartwig Scholarship recipients
Kathleen Burrell, BSN, DNP
Anne Bye, BSN, RN, CPN

2015 Nursing Excellence in Clinical Education Award recipients
This award is given jointly by the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Department of Nursing Services and Patient Care and the University of Iowa College of Nursing to recognize a BSN-prepared staff nurse for excellence in learning, educational leadership, advocacy, professional role model and innovative spirit. This award has been given annually since 2003 to a staff nurse and nurse leader recipients. Since 2014, the award has gone only to a staff nurse.

2015 Recipient
Carrie Swenka, BSN, RNC                                         

2015 Semi-Finalists
Julianne Robison Murphy, MSN, RN                  
Colleen Shipley, BSN, RN-BC          
Jennifer Szymanowski, BSN, RN, CCRN

Professional Recognition Program
The Professional Recognition Program (PRP) recognizes and rewards the accomplishments of the direct care staff nurses for their engagement in direct patient care as they support safety, quality, and research. These RNs consistently go “above and beyond” in such areas as precepting new nurses and nursing students, engaging in quality improvement and /or evidence-based practice projects, participating in committees and councils, promoting service excellence, and demonstrating involvement in professional activities among other activities. There are two levels of accomplishment: Level 1 (Silver) for meeting 10 of 17 professional achievement and contribution requirements and Level 2 (Gold) for meeting 15 of 23 professional achievement and contribution requirements. 

February 2014 Level-1 Recipients – Cohort 1
Anne Bye   BSN, RN, CPN
Maritza Campos, BSN, RN                             
Stephanie Dallenbach, BSN, RN-BC             
M. Teresa Julich, MSN, RN, CCRN         
Angie Kipp, BSN, RN           
Lisa Kongable, MA, ARNP, PMHCNS-BC, CNE
Finnegan Meadows, MSN, RN, CNL                  
Sarah Schneider, BSN, MSN, RN, PCCN                    
Lori Stebral, BSN, RN, CNOR                                       
Deb Strike, BSN, RN, CORLN                                 
Abby White, BSN, RN                                            
Connie Witte, BSN, RN-BC                                     

July 2014 Level -1 Recipients – Cohort 2
Linda Boehmer, BSN, RN, PCN                      
Gracie Eggland, BSN, RN, CPHON                  
Megan Farnsworth, MNHP, RN, ONC          
Emily Gage, MSN, RN, CNOR, MNHP
Ann Ghabel, BSN, RN-BC MSW           
Nancy Hanson, BSN, RN, CNOR              
Jennifer Lewis, BSN, RN, CCRN       
Beth Schmidt, BSN, RN-BC               
Deborah Sheikholeslami, BSN, RN-BC, OCN
Audrey Wyatt, BSN, RN                            

February 2015 Level-2 Recipients – Cohort 3
Anne Bye   BSN, RN, CPN
Lisa Kongable, MA, ARNP, PMHCNS-BC, CNE

Level-1 Recipients
M. Teresa Julich, MSN, RN, CCRN
Angie Kipp, BSN, RN
Lori Stebral, BSN, RN, CNOR
Deb Strike, BSN, RN, CORLN
Jackline Wangui-Verry BSN, RN-BC
Connie Witte, BSN, RN-BC

For pictures of this year’s awardees, please click here

# # #

Posted On: 
May 14th, 2015