You are here

Student Approved: Daack-Hirsch Honored with Murray Faculty Award

Sandra Daack-Hirsch

Signaling a strong vote of confidence from her students, Sandra Daack-Hirsch, PhD, RN, a clinical geneticist and assistant professor in the College of Nursing, was recently bestowed with the 2013 James N. Murray Faculty Award.

The award honors a tenure-track faculty member (who has not yet received tenure) with less than six years of service at the University of Iowa.

Daack-Hirsch (featured right) was presented with this prestigious award at the university’s 96th annual Finkbine Dinner, where UI students, faculty, staff, and alumni receive some of the institution’s highest honors.

“Murray Faculty Award recipients demonstrate outstanding rapport with students and create an exemplary classroom atmosphere,” noted Keela Herr, PhD, RN, AGST, FAAN, professor at UI’s College of Nursing. “Congratulations to Sandy for this wonderful recognition of her teaching excellence!”

›› Click here to read more about the awards distributed at the annual Finkbine Dinner.

# # #

Posted On: 
Apr 2nd, 2013