You are here

April Showers Bring … Faculty Awards!

Amany Farag
Jacinda Bunch

Congratulations to Professor Amany Farag, PhD, RN who has won the 2016 Mary Hanna Memorial Journalism Award from the Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing for her article titled “Examining the Relationship Among Ambulatory Surgical Settings Work Environment, Nurses’ Characteristics, and Medication Errors Reporting.”  

Dr. Farag will be presented with the award on Monday, April 11, during the opening ceremonies of the American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses’ (ASPAN) 35th National Conference in Philadelphia, Pa.

With more than 15,000 members, ASPAN is the only professional organization dedicated exclusively to the practice of perianesthesia nursing. The Society serves its members by continually providing the latest in perianesthesia education, research, clinical practice expertise, standards and advocacy.


Jacinda Bunch, PhD, RN, also brought home some hardware this week. Dr. Bunch and her team won an award for their poster presentation at the 4th Annual Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Symposium, which was held April 6 at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

Their poster, titled “Rapid Response Systems: Evaluation of Program Context, Mechanism, and Outcome Factors in a Community Hospital” was judged as one of the top three posters—out of 76—by faculty/staff at the symposium.  

Awards were sponsored by the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Department of Internal Medicine, eHealth + eNovation Center, and the Society of Hospital Medicine – Iowa Chapter.

# # #

Posted On: 
Apr 8th, 2016