You are here

Three More CON Faculty Selected as Academy Fellows

AAN logo

American Academy of Nursing Announces 2018 Class of Fellows

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) recently announced its selection of 195 highly distinguished nurse leaders as part of its 2018 Class of Academy Fellows. Among this extraordinary group of new Fellows are three University of Iowa College of Nursing faculty members:

Sandra Daack-Hirsch, PhD, RN
Maria Lindell Joseph, PhD, RN
Susan Van Cleve, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, PMHS, FAANP

With this latest class of inductees, the number of UI College of Nursing faculty members who are AAN Fellows has grown to 20.

“I am humbled and honored to join this group of talented and inspired leaders in nursing,” said Dr. Van Cleve. “Being a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing offers recognition for my career in educating Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, as well as promoting and expanding the role of the PNP, and for improving the health of children, especially children with disabilities and mental health needs.”

The Academy Fellows represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 29 countries. Fellow selection criteria includes evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current Academy Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed Fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee's nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and well-being of all.

Dr. Daack-Hirsch, whose expertise is in clinical genomics, has been involved in clinical practice and research in this area since 1990.

“Being an ‘early adopter’ of genomics in nursing practice and research has been exciting in that I’m among the first. At the same time, it’s been challenging because nurses and other health care providers struggle with being able to incorporate it into their work, and therefore, are resistant to including this topic in education and research,” she explained. “I’ve worked with some tremendously amazing colleagues to turn this challenge into opportunities. As such, I’ve built an academic career that bridges basic genetic science with real-world application. My work, in collaboration with amazing colleagues, has led to policy and educational changes in the U.S. and globally to ensure public access to quality, genomic-health services. It’s a terrific feeling to be recognized by my colleagues, and for that, I’m very thankful.”

Upon learning that she’d been selected as an AAN Fellow, Dr. Joseph described her initial reaction as feelings of gratitude, humility, and that she “could not stop smiling.”

“This recognition validated that my inspiration to create change and foster new ways of thinking for health systems improvement had not gone unnoticed by the nursing community. By leveraging innovation and shared governance (theory and practice), I am passionately working to improve the work environment for nurses, nursing leadership, as well as the patients and families they serve. I deeply appreciate this honor and continue to be inspired by the courage of nurses who strive to create change for a better and improved health care system.”

Drs. Daack-Hirsch, Joseph, and Van Cleve, along with the other 2018 inductees, will be honored at a ceremony during the Academy's annual policy conference, Transforming Health, Driving Policy, which will take place November 1-3, 2018, in Washington, D.C.

For a full list of the 2018 Class of Academy Fellows, go to

Sandy Daack-Hirsch  Lindell Joseph  Susan Van Cleve

# # #

About AAN
The American Academy of Nursing serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. The Academy's more than 2,500 Fellows are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, and research. For more information, visit

Posted On: 
Aug 8th, 2018