You are here

Learning, Leadership, and Loyalty

Dr. Ann Marie McCarthy and President Bruce Harreld

Dr. Ann Marie McCarthy was presented with a Hancher-Finkbine Medallion during the 101st Finkbine Dinner, which was held April 10 at the Iowa Memorial Union.  

Considered one of the most prestigious awards at the University of Iowa, the tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine Medallions was established in 1964 and serves to recognize nominees who exemplify three defining characteristics for which the awards are presented: leadership, learning, and loyalty.

“I am sure you will all agree that Dr. McCarthy exemplifies these characteristics and is most deserving. I would also like to congratulate the other nominees: Sandra Daack-Hirsch, Keela Herr, Diane Huber, and Janet Williams. A committee member said the nominations were outstanding and exemplified the fabulous faculty that we have in the College of Nursing,” said Julie Zerwic, Dean at UI’s College of Nursing.

Named for the founder of the Finkbine Dinner, William O. Finkbine, and for Virgil M. Hancher, a student guest at the first dinner who later served for 24 years as president of the university, seven medallions are awarded annually: four to outstanding students; one to faculty; one to a staff member; and one to an alumni who has attained special distinction.

# # #


Posted On: 
Apr 13th, 2018