You are here

Diversity-Equity-Inclusion Committee

The University of Iowa College of Nursing Diversity-Equity-Inclusion Committee embraces and endorses a broad definition of diversity. The committee shall ensure that the college provides a climate and culture that fosters, promotes, and encourages social, professional, and educational interactions that support a profound appreciation and celebration of our differences and that reinforces the tenets of the CON Seven Pillars of Diversity.

Working collaboratively with all members of the CON, we aim to foster and strengthen our relationships and work environment, promote understanding, cultural humility, respect and accountability within the college community and beyond.

2020-2021 Diversity-Equity-Inclusion Committee

Valerie GarrValerie Garr, BA, MA
Diversity Coordinator
Diversity Commitee Co-Chair
Advisor to Multicultural Nursing Association
Larry NewmanLarry Newman, DNP, RN, AGPCNP-BC
Assistant Professor
DEI Committee Co-Chair


Molly JamesMolly James, BS
Admin Services Specialist
Linda MyersLinda Myers, BS, MS
Acad Clin Prog Mgmt Specialist
BSN Program
Debra McFall-WallerichDebra McFall-Wallerich, MBA
HR Director
Marianne SmithMarianne Smith, PhD, RN
Associate Professor

Lin PierceLin Pierce, MA, BA
Administrative Services

Debra McFall-WallerichLynette Cooper, DNP, ARNP, FNP-C
Assistant Professor

Roshani KandelRoshani Kandel
Graduate Student Representative